Monsieur Madame – Mon papa

June 15, 2018

• Title English : Mr. Madam – My dad
• Author : Roger Hargreaves
• Age group : 3 years and over
• Pages : 40 Sheet
• Publisher : Hachette Jeunesse [Hachette Youth] (May 3, 2017)
Collection : Monsieur Madame
• ISBN-10 : 2012045693
• ISBN-13 : 978-2012045699
Product Dimensions : 13,8 x 0,4 x 12,7 cm
• Format Kindle : Paperback, Epub, PDF and eBook
• Price : € 2,90
• Rating : ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 7/10

♦ Description : “A dad, it’s a concentrate of many Mr.: Mr. Rigolo, Mr. Costaud, Mr. Génial, Mr. Amazing … A book full of humor that allows children to say “I love you” to their dad thanks to the coolest gentlemen.”

Author Biography


“Roger Hargreaves”

“Charles Roger Hargreaves is the author of the series of children’s books “Monsieur Bonhomme” (Mr. Men and Little Miss). At his death, his son Adam (1963) continued the series. Roger Hargreaves, who is passionate about reading and cricket during his childhood, wants to become a draftsman. He dropped out of school at the age of 18 to work in his father’s laundry, then did his military service in the Royal Air Force.

In the late 1950s, Roger Hargreaves moved to Amsterdam and worked as a copywriter in several advertising agencies. In 1970, he founded Slip City, a company producing invertible film. Hargreaves creates his first character, Mr Tickle, in 1971.

Eager to spend more time with his family, he sets out in childhood literature by creating short illustrated stories featuring characters that symbolize human behavior, such as Mr. Grumpy (Mr. Grumpy) and Mr. Sale (Mr. Messy). . His first six books are published by the publisher Fabbri and Partners (in) in 1971 under the title The Mr books. Six new books appear three years later, the series is then renamed Mr. Bonhomme (Mr. Men). In the 1960s Roger Hargreaves signed partnership agreements with manufacturers, including toys and clothing, to sell derivative products with the image of his characters, which increases their notoriety. He wrote 53 books in the Mr. Men series before launching Little Miss in 1981, at the request of his publisher in the United States.

The series is built on the same principle, but with female characters. Hargreaves writes 30 books in the Little Miss series. In the early 1980s, sales of his two series in the United Kingdom exceeded 80 million copies. When he died in 1988, his books were translated into 25 languages ​​and 185 million copies were sold around the world.

Roger Hargreaves’ children’s books have been part of popular culture for over 25 years. During the 2000s, their sales exceeded one hundred million copies, making him the second most read British author, behind J. K. Rowling. After a stroke that caused the death of their father at Kent and Sussex Hospital, two of Roger Hargreaves’ children, Adam and his sister Amelia Beddoe, take over the Mr. Men and Little Miss series.”